Thursday, July 10, 2008

AUTO MENACE in Bangalore

This is everyday story or rather the pain that most of us go through. The three wheeled ugly yellow things (Auto Rickshaw) that we see on the road, are a pain to so many people. Agreed that the drivers are human beings. But how many of us agree or have seen the human nature of theses drivers? They are least bothered about pedestrians, leave alone the lanes / traffic rules. I have yet to come across an auto guy who is sensible enough to respect traffic rules / lane discipline. A sudden left or right turn, Sudden U turn,without a signal. And traffic rule book of course does not mention anything about suddenly stopping, turning around seeing a potential passenger, for an auto driver. You cant question him, if you are following. Expect his dirty stare if you honk / look at him. You are compelled to break more than couple of traffic rules for these guys sake. (Not that we do not break at all, but not so often)
The biggest nuisance is the sound and smoke the auto rickshaws emit. We are talking of GO GREEN everywhere and trying to implement stricter norms. Why is it that auto rickshaws are exempted. Is it a case of every rule has an exception ?? Try driving alongside an auto rickshaw for just 50 mtrs, I am sure your ear drums will start begging you to overtake / stay back. If you stay back, you gasp for your breath, cos what you breath is pure CO2 and white smoke.
Another trouble these guys create is to decline ferrying passengers. The auto driver has his set route for the day. If you happen to travel the same way as his, he will oblige (!!!) to fetch you a paid ride, else you are stranded.(Ask me how many of friends struggle to go home by Auto after 7 pm.) Now a days I will not be surprised (even during the day) if an auto driver does not demand extra Rs.20 / Rs.30 above the meter reading. You will be treated as alien, if you try hiring an auto rickshaw for anything less than 5 kms and he will turn his face the other side as if you dispparead.
If you happen to kiss the auto, start praying God. The so called friends of the auto drivers (he may have never seen them in his life) will come and pounce on you. Just agree to pay him the money and leave the place, else you are in for a bigger trouble.
I am not being biased here, I do understand that most of them rent it and drive to earn their living. But at what cost? rather at whose cost ?? Passenger? Traffic rules? Co - drivers??
What surprises me is very few number of Auto drivers are fined for their traffic offenses. I think its time that Police department wakes up and implements the existing rules and lets us breathe cleaner air and help us also stay in line.
SK